Interoperability Governance Model (IGM): Envisages Areas of Activities and Relationships to Establish Information Interoperability within Government

Jameson MBALE and S. Van STADEN


The Interoperability Governance Model (IGM) is a practical focussed tool that defines the areas of activities and their relationships to  establish interoperability within a Government. It has a set of references structure and guidelines aimed at ensuring mutual interactions at different levels of interoperability within a Government. The IGM is composed of three interlinked areas: strategy and management, relationships and Technical infrastructure. The strategy and management drives the creation of the desired state of interoperability. While the relationships focus on the forms and nature of Government collaboration required to meet the overall Government strategy. The technical infrastructure addresses the technical standard/architectural issues involved in exchanging data and sharing functionalities between computer systems. Furthermore, the IGM is extended to the Interoperability Governance Framework (IGF) which serves as a common governance and technical frame of reference to guide the process of establishing interoperability within a Government. The IGF consists of seven domains that are aligned with the IGM areas. The IGF domains map to the higher level IGM areas, which provide the overhead functional groupings.

Full Paper in PDF Document


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: